‘The Sun Is Up Forever’ Soundtrack Release

Very pleased to the say the soundtrack for ‘The Sun Is Up Forever’ is released on Spotify, other streaming services and Bandcamp today:




This was a very enjoyable and highly collaborative project which involved working closely with the director Charlene to craft the music to help tell her story as effectively as possible.

Very happy with how it turned out and was a privilege to be asked to work on such a personal film.

The composition process involved a long period of exploration of different ways to process my piano, synths and various sounds from the natural world relative to the film through tape and other mediums, which were then arranged to picture until we found the appropriate emotional resonance for the story. Charlene was keen for the soundtrack to be atmospheric and to unfold slowly, leaving space for the viewer, which hopefully we achieved.

The Sun Is Up Forever:

On a hot summer’s day, Freya a young daughter seeks to soak up the sun but finds her thoughts are preoccupied with her mother at home.

A short film by @oldhallfilms in association with the @bfinetwork with funds from the National Lottery.

Written and directed by @_charlenejones

Starring @chloelouiseatkinson_ alongside Liz Thompson with @milliemae_acting_

and @might.be.billy

Produced by @menna_morgan_ and @margotdouglas

Executive producer – Keith Farrell @oldhallfilms

BFI Network Talent Executive – Benjamin Taylor

BFI Network Project Administrator – Niamh Coogan

Casting Director- @jadeemcc

Script Editor – Sarah Golding

DoP – @georgehaydockdop

1st AC – @martinwelsby

2nd AC – Joanna Mottram

Camera Trainee – @megthehuman_

Script Supervisor – @ericamurgia94

DIT – @ricardobattaglia

Stills Photographer – @a.coleborn

Gaffer – @a.coleborn

Spark – @narrenschyff

Spark – @scottdixon.cinematography

Sound Recordist – @gregscholesaudio

Production Designer – @ruta_creative_design

Art Department Assistants – Orla Lawn, @isthisluis @adamfdouglas2001

Costume Designer – @oliviarowland

HMU – @helenasmythe_hmua

1st AD – Alison McGuigan

Runners – @ella.vincenti, Seamus Farrell, Sam Gresty, Charlie Vjestica, Will Grant

Chaperone – @jo_ryder_

Stunt Coordinator – @kenanalifd

Editor – @dom_old

Sound Designer – @mabrodie

Composer – @jameswarburtonmusic

Colourist – @colourbymegwan

Colour Producer – Olivia Jessop @electric.theatre.collective

Online Editor – Jonny Moongate

Audio Description by – @bronte_james

Graphic Designer – @tasharghh

Camera Kit – @promotionhire

Lighting Kit – @tunstallfilmservices @drop_city_ltd @e.motionpicturesuk